214-371-1901

8189 S. Central Expressway

Dallas, TX 75241

PROUD OF OUR ROOTS.

PROUD OF OUR ROOTS.

Recent Accolades

Great West Casualty

Five National Platinum, Three Gold & Two Silver Safety Awards

2007 - 2016

Lowe's Platinum Carrier Award 2010

Texas Trucking Assn. (TXTA)

Safety Carrier of the Year

Local  5M-10M Miles

2015

Conagra Mills Regional Van Carrier of the Year 2011 Certificate of Appreciation 2013

BNSF Railway Safest Intermodal Trucker, Southeast Region 2007

 

We were founded by one of the true class acts in Texas trucking, Ira Jones...

 

who after almost a career as a corporate trucking executive, started his own company from scratch with one small investor, a volunteer bookkeeper and an idea.  Taking advantage of the pre-deregulation environment that existed before 1980,  Ira put together a small package service and pool distribution operation that between 1967 when he started and 1979 when he sold, provided a new cost savings tool for mostly national retailers burdened with small shipments going long distances.  Years later, Ira admitted that his only real mistake was getting out too soon.  Retiring at 60, he clearly missed the people and the daily challenges of competing in an industry that he knew, that he loved, and where he left a mark.

 

Purchasing Southwest Freight Distributors was Terry Kelley, a highly successful, young Dallas banker who saw great potential in the company, and wanted to see what it was like to be on the other side of a note payment.  Terry recognized early on that the company needed to diversify.  He added warehousing to the mix and began to take a look at the new rail intermodal phenomenon that was bringing steamship containers inland from west coast ports.  As it turned out, intermodal drayage and the services related to it have been the main focus for the company since the millenium.

 

Retaining ownership, Terry returned to banking in 1983, leaving day-to-day operations to Rich Eberhart and Bob Luchsinger.  He sold to the two in 1988.  Bob retired in 2008, with CFO John Jenkins joining Rich in purchasing Bob’s portion of the business.

 

Through half a century of ups and downs, successes and hiccups, changes in culture and technology, Southwest Freight has endured and excelled.  From Ira Jones on, the emphasis has always been on the employee, the customer, and providing a service that is reliable and safe.  It’s worked.

Evergreen America  Trucking Company of the Year, Gulf Region 2006

Leadership Team

Key Contacts // 214-371-1901

Delivery Orders

Dispatch@swfreight.com

Fax: 214-371-6140

 

Pricing & General Operations

Neen Ponto, ext. 105

Neen.Ponto@swfreight.com

 

Robert Hooks, ext. 129

Robert.Hooks@swfreight.com

 

Warehouse Operations

Dan Ponto, ext. 130

Dan.Ponto@swfreight.com

General Dispatch

Blake Bostick, ext. 108

Blake.Bostick@swfreight.com

 

Safety

Chris Juknalis, ext. 106

Chris.Juknalis@swfreight.com

 

Customs Exam Station & Bonded Warehouse

Mary Garza, ext. 101

Mary.Garza@swfreight.com

 

VP Business Development

Ivars Circenis, ext. 116

Ivars.Circenis@swfreight.com

Local Dispatch

Pat Gore, ext. 107

Pat.Gore@swfreight.com

 

Alvin Williams, ext. 112

Alvin.Williams@swfreight.com

 

Regional Dispatch

Peggy Burns, ext. 119

Peggy.Burns@swfreight.com

 

Scott Oates, ext. 103

Scott.Oates@swfreight.com

All rights reserved. (c) Southwest Freight 2016